Interview with Robin Mason

  1. Who or what inspired you to write?

REM:  I once said I should write down all the story ideas in my head so someone could write them someday. I had no idea at the time that someone was me!  I’ve always had stories in my head, conversations, scenarios.  Twenty years ago, I was dealing with a lot of painful issues, and writing is what Holy Spirit gave me as a release.  I learned then I love to write!

  1. Who are your favorite authors?

REM: Oh, my, there are so many!!  I’ve had an affinity for Agatha Christie since I was 15 and played Dr. Armstrong in Ten Little Indians.  Jane Austen of course, Kristin Hannah, Madeleine L’Engle, C.S. Lewis, Nora Roberts, Frank Peretti, and in recent months I have discovered Jordyn Redwood, Jessica Dotta, Sarah Ladd, Carol Stratton, and Tessa Afshar.  To name a few.

 

  1. How much research do you do?

REM: A lot.  I love history and trivia, and things not commonly known.  I am OCD about getting the facts straight.  My current WIP, the sequel to Tessa, has a scene that goes back to 1800’s Appalachia.  I’m checking out all available sources to know what life was like at that time and in that area.  I end up with reams of printed material and handwritten notes to ensure that I get it right.  And calendars, too!  I have a whole file folder on my desktop of calendars, from 1950 through 2020!

 

  1. When did you decide to become a writer?

REM: That was rather in stages.  As I mentioned above, I first began writing in 1996.  I ended up with a fictional saga telling my story.  That may or may not ever see publication.  I poked around with some other stories, and wrote dozens of poems.  I lacked the confidence to really pursue it.  I “got” the beginning of Tessa in July of 2008, while going for a walk: “Tessa flopped onto the divan, more worn and weary in her thirty-seven years than the faded and threadbare divan in its 137 years.”  I wrote it down as soon as I got home.  I then started 4 ½ years of college, and it wasn’t until after graduation in 2013 that I got serious about finishing Tessa.  Now that I’m working at this as a career, marketing and all, I can’t imagine doing anything else.

  1. What book/s are you reading at present?

REM: More Precious Than Gold by Lynn Dean.  And Naked Determination by Gisela Hausmann, a fellow writer I met at a book signing event last fall.

 

  1. Do you need peace and quiet when writing or background noise?

REM:  Silence!  I get easily distracted, and I prefer to think it’s because I’m uber observant – which is a good thing for an author!  With songs, even instrumental, I get caught up in the music.  And definitely no TV!

 

  1. What is your favorite beverage or snack when writing?

REM:  Ice tea, unsweetened, 24/7.  Coffee in the mornings, snacks vary with mood or whim. Chocolate, of course, is standard.  But I gotta have my tea!  Occasionally, I’ll change it up and have hot tea.

 

  1. Do you have a special place that you like to write?

REM: I’ve a small house, so I work sitting right on the couch.  I “nest” with my notes right at hand, and reference books close by.  [not to mention a large to-be-read stack]  On my wish list is an oversized easy chair, not quite as wide as a love seat, but maybe half again as wide as a standard recliner.  Also, have an ergonomic wedge on the floor for my footsies; it helps with the strain on my back.  And yes, I get up and move around a good bit.  I love to go for walks, it’s rather my muse and communion being outdoors.

 

I’d love you to follow me on my blog and on Facebook, or any of my other cyber spots.  I will be upgrading my blog, and redesigning it sometime this year, so be looking for that announcement.

 

http://robinsnest212.wordpress.com/

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Robin-E-Mason-Author-Artist/224223274404877

http://www.amazon.com/Robin-E.-Mason/e/B00MR5IQ9S

https://twitter.com/amythyst212

https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7808042.Robin_E_Mason

http://www.pinterest.com/amythyst212/

 

And of course, the link to Tessa:

 

http://www.amazon.com/Tessa-Robin-E-Mason/dp/1502524279/ref=tmm_pap_title_0?ie=UTF8&qid=1413341953&sr=1-1

tessa cover - front - 092314 moi and tessaclara bess cover - teaser

Be sure to check out Robin’s various sites. Be sure to follow Robin, so that you may keep up to date with her work.

Robin,
I would like to thank you for this wonderful opportunity to have you on my blog. I has been a please to work with you and have you answer my questions. I am a book lover at heart. I always love the chance to ask authors questions and get answers. Keep up the wonderful writing.

God Bless,

Cheryl Baranski

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Interview with Robin Mason

Leave a Reply

